Community Working Group posts: Announcing Drupal Event Code of Conduct Training

0 Flares Twitter 0 Facebook 0 Filament.io 0 Flares ×

The Drupal Community Working Group is happy to announce that we’ve teamed up with Otter Tech to offer live, monthly, online Code of Conduct enforcement training for Drupal Event organizers and volunteers through the end of 2019. 

The training is designed to provide “first responder” skills to Drupal community members who take reports of potential Code of Conduct issues at Drupal events, including meetups, camps, conventions, and other gatherings. The workshops will be attended by Code of Conduct enforcement teams from other open source events, which will allow cross-pollination of knowledge with the Drupal community.

Each monthly online workshop is the same; community members only have to attend one monthly workshop of their choice to complete the training.  We strongly encourage all Drupal event organizers to consider sponsoring one or two persons’ attendance at this workshop.

The monthly online workshops will be presented by Sage Sharp, Otter Tech’s CEO and a diversity and inclusion leader in the open source community. From the official description of the workshop, it will include:

  • Practice taking a report of a potential Code of Conduct violation (an incident report)
  • Practice following up with the reported person
  • Instructor modeling on how to take a report and follow up on a report
  • One practice scenario for a report given at an event
  • One practice scenario for a report given in an online community
  • Discussion on bias, microaggressions, personal conflicts, and false reporting
  • Frameworks for evaluating a response to a report
  • 40 minutes total of Q&A time

In addition, we have received a Drupal Community Cultivation Grant to help defray the cost of the workshop for those that need assistance. The standard cost of the workshop is $350, Otter Tech has worked with us to allow us to provide the workshop for $300. To register for the workshop, first let us know that you’re interested by completing this sign-up form – everyone who completes the form will receive a coupon code for $50 off the regular price of the workshop.

For those that require additional assistance, we have a limited number of $100 subsidies available, bringing the workshop price down to $200. Subsidies will be provided based on reported need as well as our goal to make this training opportunity available to all corners of our community. To apply for the subsidy, complete the relevant section on the sign-up form. The deadline for applying for the subsidy is end-of-business on Friday, September 6, 2019 – those selected for the subsidy will be notified after this date (in time for the September 9, 2019 workshop).

The workshops will be held on:

  • September 9 (Monday) at 3 pm to 7 pm U.S. Pacific Time / 8 am to 12 pm Australia Eastern Time
  • October 23 (Wednesday) at 5 am to 9 am U.S. Pacific Time / 2 pm to 6 pm Central European Time
  • November 14 (Thursday) at 6 pm to 10 pm U.S. Pacific Time / 1 pm to 5 pm Australia Eastern Time
  • December 4 (Wednesday) at 9 am to 1 pm U.S. Pacific Time / 6 pm to 10 pm Central European Time

Those that successfully complete the training will be (at their discretion) listed on Drupal.org (in the Drupal Community Workgroup section) as a means to prove that they have completed the training. We feel that moving forward, the Drupal community now has the opportunity to have professionally trained Code of Conduct contacts at the vast majority of our events, once again, leading the way in the open source community.

We are fully aware that the fact that the workshops will be presented in English limit who will be able to attend. We are more than interested in finding additional professional Code of Conduct workshops in other languages. Please contact us if you can assist.